Sheldon Coin Grading Scale

The Sheldon Coin Grading Scale is an 70-point coin grading scale accepted internationally for evaluating coin’s condition and quality. Sheldon Coin Grading Scale was developed by Dr. William Herbert Sheldon in 1948 in order to grade large U.S. cents. Sheldon Coin Grading Scale was modified in the 1970s to account for a wider range of coins.

The Sheldon Coin Grading Scale goes from 1 to 70. The higher the grade of the coin, the better the condition of the coin (and the higher the price).

Original Sheldon Scale (1948)

In 1948, the original Sheldon Scale was presented by William H. Sheldon for grading large cents but didn’t include enough detail in application for widespread use.

[lt id=”28″]

Adapted Scale (1970–Present)

Slightly modified grading standards was added in 1970, most common coin grades are as follows:

Circulated grades
[lt id=”30″]
Uncirculated Grades
[lt id=”32″]

5 thoughts on “Sheldon Coin Grading Scale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *