Mints of India

East India Company set up the following three mints in the seventeenth and eighteenth century.

  • Madras Mint in 1640 A.D.
  • Bombay Mint in 1671 A.D.
  • Calcutta Mint in 1759 A.D.

These mints were again reset up as bigger one and with the latest technology, at Bombay & Calcutta in 1829 A.D. However Madras Mint was closed in 1869.

  • Before 1947, i.e. pre-partition of India. There were four mints, namely at Bombay, Calcutta, Lahore and Madras.
  • After 1947, i.e. Post partition of India. There are four mints, namely Bombay, Calcutta, Hyderabad and Noida.

There are four mints in India each with a long & distinguished history that produce coins which serve our everyday needs, The two oldest are Alipore (Calcutta) and Bombay mints, both were Established in 1829 by the British Government, though the former was originally located in Calcutta and moved to its present site in 1952.

The Hyderabad mint was established in 1903 by the Government of the erstwhile Nizam of Hyderabad and was taken over by the Government of India in 1950 & started minting since 1953.

Noida mint was set up in 1986 and started minting ferritic stainless steel coins from 1988.

Besides minting coins, the mints at Mumbai, Kolkata and Hyderabad also make coin blanks. Hyderabad, Mumbai and Kolkata mints have gold assaying facilities and the Mumbai mint produces standardized weights and measures. Mumbai Mint has a state-of-the-art gold refining facility up to 999.9. Hyderabad Mint has electrolytic silver refining facility up to 999.9.

Commemorative coins are made at Mumbai and Kolkata. Kolkata and Hyderabad have facilities for making medallions, too. The Noida mint was the first in the country to mint coins of stainless steel.

One thought on “Mints of India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *